Bells Will Ring

Last weekend when I hit “ten day forecast” on weather.com, the entire week and change (so…10 days) came up as rainy and miserable. Having squeezed every single cent of value out of my car tires, which were pleasantly smooth to the touch but somewhat terrifying to ride around on, I ran out and bought some new tires so I could slog through puddles without skidding through a neighboring field or ending up wrapped around a tree. Every day last week was, of course, sunny and gorgeous and I resented the expense. Until this weekend. It’s going to rain all weekend and then be gorgeous all next week. Then it’s going to rain some more next weekend. Now you’re all caught up on the weather.

I’m not presently outside training for the Monument Ave 10k – for which I’ve trained exactly four times and am now a little doubtful about my ability to not embarrass myself at because it’s in 7 days – because of the rain. I dislike having wet shoes and hair. So next weekend should be fun. Came on to the computer just now to research stuff I could wear to avoid the wet feet and head problem, but can’t think beyond galoshes and a plastic poncho. You can’t wear that mess, they totally take pictures of you & then post them on the internet. That kind of look cannot be preserved for posterity. Anyway, galoshes and a plastic poncho would be super hot and humid and I’d no doubt end up drenched in sweat as a result – placing me in the exact situation I’d been taking pains to avoid. It is, what you might say, if you spent as much time thinking about it as I have done, something of a conundrum.

Several days ago I strapped the dogs in to their respective harnesses and took them on a four mile death jog at dusk, just as things were cooling down and traffic was easing up. This also coincided with the witching hour for bunny rabbits and other delectable rodent-like animals with alluringly jerky movements and a tendency to  run when threatened. They were cavorting about e-v-e-r-y-w-h-e-r-e. Unpleasantness ensued. By mile three, my ferocious killers had worn themselves out lunging around at the end of their tethers and were basically worthless for the last mile. I dragged them home, hauling them up the last brutal hill while both dogs paddled with floppy limbs behind me, their mouths open wide and tongues trailing. Came home exhausted and very concerned about the 10k.

So we’ll see. Should be interesting. Going to stick to the treadmill for the rest of the week. No more help from the mutts.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Bells Will Ring

  1. Grammapat says:

    Do they allow runners to carry umbrellas?

  2. Kristin says:

    Sounds like you need one of those hats with an umbrella attached to the top. Everyone would be sooo jealous! And by everyone, I mean me.

    • Jen says:

      There’s the competitive edge I’ve been looking for! The person with a hat like that would rule the world. Wonder where you can get one for a noggin larger than that of an 8 year old …

Leave a Reply

